Genotyping

 

Genotyoing is firstly used to clarify, whether a laboratory animal is transgenic or not. Secondly, it can be determined if it is a homo- or heterozygote animal and how many gene copies exist. Here the method of choice is PCR and RT-PCR.  

We conduct single PCRs as well as duplex or multiplex PCRs. Moreover, restriction enzyme digestion, gel electrophoresis, RT-PCR and sequencing for SNPs and Indels are part of our portfolio. An already established PCR assay is therefore provided by the customer or standard PCR assays (Jackson Lab) for transferring, validation and optimization are used. In addition, we offer the development of new PCR assays.

Already 2 to 3 mm of a tail or ear biopsy is sufficient for such a test.

In our laboratories the pre- and post-PCR sections are separated strictly to avoid contamination. This is ensured by additional controls which run along with any assay. Lysis and DNA extraction of biopsies take place in 1,5 ml reaction tubes, amplification in PCR (Applied Biosystems, Biometra, peglab) and RT-PCR cyclers (Applied Biosystems).

Due to our number of PCR cyclers we are able to handle more variations of PCR programs simultaneously as usually possible with a gradient cycler. By the use of 12 PCR cyclers not only temperature but also times can be varied. This gains time in the optimization process of PCR assays.

For the gel based detection of the PCR products a high-throughput-capillary gel electrophoresis, QIAxcel-Systems (Quiagen), is used. In special cases deletions/insertions and SPNs are sequenced with a 3730 DNA-analyzer (Applied Biosystems).

These services are provided in cooperation with StarSEO GmbH, Mainz.

Genotypisierung

 

Mit einer Genotypisierung soll zum einen geklärt werden, ob ein Labortier transgen ist oder nicht. Zum anderen kann bestimmt werden, ob es sich um ein homo- oder heterozygotes Tier handelt und wie viele Kopien eines Genes vorhanden sind. Methode der Wahl ist hierbei die PCR und die RT-PCR.

Wir führen Einfach-PCRs genauso durch wie Doppel- oder Vielfach-Allel-PCRs. Restriktionsverdau und Gelelektrophorese bieten wir genau so an, RT-PCR und Sequenzierungen für SNPs und Indels.

Der bereits etablierte PCR-Assay wird dabei vom Kunden bereitgestellt, oder es werden Standard-PCR-Assays (Jackson Lab) für die Portierung, Validierung und Optimierung verwendet. Darüber hinaus bieten wir die Entwicklung von neuen PCR-Assays an. 

Schon 2-3 mm einer Schwanz-oder Ohrbiopsie reichen für eine solche Testung aus.

Die Prä- und Post-PCR-Bereiche sind im Labor klar getrennt, um Kontaminationen zu vermeiden. Zusätzliche Kontrolluntersuchungen, die bei jedem Assay mitlaufen, sichern dies ab. Lyse und DNA-Extraktion der Biopsien erfolgt in 1,5 ml Reaktionsgefäßen, Amplifikation in PCR- (Applied Biosystems, Biometra, peqlab) und RT-PCR-Cyclern (Applied Biosystems).

Durch die Anzahl unserer PCR-Cycler können wir mehr Variationen von PCR-Programmen gleichzeitig bearbeiten als es mit einem Gradienten-Cycler möglich wäre. Durch 12 PCR-Cycler können nicht nur Temperaturen, sondern auch Zeiten variiert werden und so in der Optimierung von PCR-Assays Zeit gewonnen werden.

Eine Gel-basierte Detektion von PCR-Produkten erfolgt durch Hochdurchsatz-Kapillar-Gelelektrophorese mit Hilfe des QIAxcel-Systems (Quiagen). Deletionen /Insertionen und SNPs sequenzieren wir in Spezialfällen durch den 3730 DNA-Analyzer (Applied Biosystems).

Diese Dienstleistungen erbringen wir in Zusammenarbeit mit der StarSEQ GmbH, Mainz.